Running to God, not from Him

As a child, one of my first lessons in morality was honesty. My mother put an unusual emphasis on telling the truth. I know it’s standard for any half-way decent parent to instill veracity in their children, but my mother really hammered it into her four kids. She’d tell us, “There’s nothing you could ever do that would make me stop loving you.” To further drive her point, she’d give us these insane scenarios in which her love would abide: “If you killed twenty people, you could tell me and I would still love you.”

So growing up (and even now) it was rare that I lied to my mother. When I did, the guilt would gnaw away at me until I ran to her confessing, “Mommy I’m sorry! It was me who drank your root beer!” Of course, swiping a soda was a minor offense, but I was always astonished by how easily she forgave me. My apologies usually ended with my mother enclosing me in her arms or gently grasping my face in her hands and looking into my tear filled eyes to remind me…nothing.

That seed of unmitigated love ingrained in me as a child was the blueprint I stumbled around trying to comprehend God’s infinite love for me. Even now, as a somewhat seasoned Christian, I still find myself tripping over God’s love. An ineffable love so overwhelming, that at times I flee from it. I feel guilty for being on the receiving end of such a limitless affection.

It seems like my relationship with God is constantly on the rocks. There’s always something to fix or improve. I hardly ever feel satisfied with my contribution to the union. When I take too many steps in the wrong direction I think Oh no, I’ve done it this time and hide my face in shame. There I stay for days, sometimes weeks or months, until God coaxes me out of my hiding place and back into his presence.

00a1919a813e4dabcef1ad06e1836689

  Recently, God placed a pause in my heart: anchored it in order that we might have a conversation about my distorted idea of his love.

God’s love for us far exceeds the potential of any human affection we could ever hope to receive. There’s no shame in his love and it abounds in grace and forgiveness. There’s nothing we can do, no sin we can commit that would diminish his love for us.

bce2cf60e47689e6fa045ea9e6a5a3b4

It’s much easier to read those words than to walk in them. When we give in to sin, it’s sometimes easier to stay there than to confess that we messed up- again. But it’s in those moments that we should be running into the arms of God, not from them. God knows our sinful nature and he knows that we are not capable of resisting on our own. He invites us into his arms when we feel burdened and overcome by sin. His hand is gentle and yearns to correct us with the love of a father.

There is no better feeling of relief than knowing that we can disclose all the messy, ugly, and sinful parts of ourselves to a God who will transform our faults into his glory. Trust him. Trust that God can paint our pain with his love. When we feel most vulnerable, most confused, most tempted, most carnal, God is inviting us to hide in him and let him fight our battles. Our hearts cannot be hidden from God and there’s no hope of refuge in running from him, only to him.

fbcf332c153a1f14b17392f13dc8af21

Note to self.

 

15 thoughts on “Running to God, not from Him

  1. It’s hard for us to relate to this today, because we’ve come so far, but as God sees it, the world started all messed up and he’s delighted when we know to do right. He wishes to be our inspiration, not our prosecutor (Matthew 12:7).

  2. Seems like your mum has great parenting skills (like mine). It was actually pretty relatable. I love your thoughts and views. I have similiar ones too. 😊
    It would mean a lot if you could stop by my site too.

  3. I have the very same struggle – I find myself running from God when I feel bad and am now only beginning to try to reverse direction whenever I recognize what I’m doing. Thank you for putting into words what many of us feel.

    • Hi Linda!!
      I’m glad you can relate. I’m also glad to hear that you too, are learning to draw closer to God when you feel farthest. We’re all in this together, right? 😀
      I look forward to checking out your blog, thanks for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Running to God, not from Him — Soul Bare | Prayer is simply a two-way conversation between you and God -Billy Graham (Photos By Matthew C Seufer)

Leave a comment