Song of the Week, “What the World Needs Now,” by Jackie DeShannon

hqdefault

Listen here!

Music can be like deja vu. I heard this song over the weekend after watching “Boss Baby,” for the second night in a row. Like second nature, the words came out. I didn’t remember where I’d heard the song, but there was a striking familiarity. It’s a pretty popular song, but somehow, not one I (consciously) hear very often.

There are quite a few renditions of this song. I went with Jackie’s recording because it’s the original, but I’m listening to Burt Bacharac’s version now and thinking maybe I made a mistake. But that’s beside the point.

I chose this song this week because it’s true. We need more love. We work so hard toward success and riches, but not nearly as committed to working toward loving one another. 

My favorite line of this song

What the world needs now is love, sweet love,
No not just for some but for everyone.

For everyone.

That means the people who don’t appear to be deserving of love, also need it. 

Leave a Reply

