Vision Test

Prior to four months ago, I had been walking around blind for a year and a half, after losing my glasses on a flight I was working back in 2015. The same pair of glasses my mother bought for me during my freshman year of high-school in 2004. That’s at least a decade I spent wearing the same pair of glasses. And if I’m being honest, had they not slipped off the rim of my shirt, I’m 97.8% sure I’d still be wearing them right now.

They, of course lost their effectiveness long before I lost them. But I figured they were better than nothing and I’d eventually get around to getting new ones. The problem, was that my vision was steadily deteriorating and I was forced to alter (at first) little things to accommodate not being able to see. Subsequently, those little alterations turned into larger life adjustments. I had to learn to navigate this handicap, which meant limiting myself in various ways. I had to refrain from driving at night because all the lines in the roads blended together. Recognizing faces became a nightmare and I didn’t speak to people if they were more than ten feet away from me.

The ridiculous thing, is that I could’ve avoided all  of the unnecessary trouble by simply going to the eye doctor and addressing the real problem- my eyes. 
Right before the new year, I finally made the adult decision to have my vision checked. It had been so long since I’d been to an opthamologist, that I was a little lost in the exam room. I didn’t realize how detailed the process is. The ability or inability to see one line of letters can have a major impact on the overall vision result. 
Putting on my new glasses was like… 

Immediately, everything was sharper and colors were more vivid than I’d ever remembered! Being able to trust my vision was an incredible feeling! It made me confident and more reliant on my sight because I knew that those glasses were made especially for my eyes and attuned to their current condition. 
It made me realize how easy it is to lose sight when we have no vision. And surrounded by the harsh realities of this world, our ability to see clearly, is always in jeopardy. Our physical sight is in a constant state of deterioration and only way to combat it is to ensure regular visits to have our sight checked.

But it’s not just our physical sight that matters, is it? 
We each have hopes, dreams, and mountains we want to conquer. But in order for us to reach our destinations, our sight has to be aligned to our vision. 
We first have to define our vision, so that we can then, create a plane to get there. Expectations must be set in order to keep our sight in line with what we ultimately envision for ourselves. If we don’t create goals and hold ourselves accountable to them, we’ll slowly begin to settle for blurred vision. Then, we will begin to accept the limitations imposed on us by our lack of sight. 

But how can we be expected to envision something different than what we see?

 
Easy, put on your glasses.
Your glasses were hand crafted by God for your life, and mine, for my own. But we have to put them on if we wish to see the path He has created for our purposes to come to fruition.
            

Jeremiah 1:5 tells us that God had a plan for our lives even before we were conceived in our mother’s wombs. How beautiful is that?! That God hand selected each and everyone of us and has given us purpose on Earth. 

Sometimes we lose our glasses or take them off when people make fun of our sight. One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Romans 12:2
“And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”
We don’t answer to the vision of this world because this world did not implant purpose in us, God did. Therefore,  we should be living our lives through the eyes of God, not man. 
In order to remain on the path of God’s vision for our lives, we need to be taking our glasses to Him on a regular basis to ensure that they are filtering our sight through His vision. 
These checkups include going before God in prayer and committing our day to Him before it even begins. It means reading His word for spiritual nourishment and understanding. We wouldn’t go an entire day without feeding our physical bodies. How much more then, should we keep our spiritual lives in good health? 

The more time we spend in God’s presence and obeying His holy spirit, the easier it becomes to ignore the roadblocks on the way to our purpose. The world can trick us into thinking that any pair of glasses will provide clear sight, but we have to know the difference between glasses that distort our vision and the ones that restore it. 

So, if you’re having issues with your sight, maybe it’s time for a visit to the ophthalmologist. 

5 thoughts on “Vision Test

    • That’s a good point. We do tend to just close our eyes all together and walk around truly blind. But our vision can be perfected wherever we see it through God’s eyes.
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

