Mundaze. “The Shack,” Review 

Okay, so I know there’s a lot of controversy surrounding the movie, “The Shack,” but I absolutely loved it! I fell in love with the book after reading it early last year and I’ve been waiting for the movie to come out since then. I have to admit though, I was anxious about the story being played out on the big screen. I didn’t want Hollywood to taint the purpose of the film. However, I’m pleased to say that I couldn’t have asked for a better execution of the book! The movie was beautiful: honest, painful, evoking, and emotionally packed. 


Now, if you read my entries regularly, you know my love for God means everything in this world to me. And yes, I am religious. But I’m also spiritual. I don’t believe that religion can be good if it is not paired with a true and personal relationship with God. Otherwise, we’re just following a bunch of rules without an understanding of why. That’s another topic for another day, but it makes me sad that so many religious people are dismissive of, “The Shack,” because they’ve perceived themes in the movie that don’t coincide with every iota of their religious doctrines. To me, the central theme of the movie is forgiveness and a true understanding of who God is and how much He loves us. 

I’ve read many articles claiming that the movie promoted universalism and that it watered down biblical truth. Honestly, maybe it did. I’m no theologian. Heck, I’m still trying to read through the entire Bible. But I never want to be so concerned with religion that I forget to have compassion for the pain of humanity. The truth is, people are hurting. Everywhere, people are drowning in their turmoil. Those people may not know that God loves them or even believe that He is at all good. They’re confused and angry and this movie has the potential to open the door to hardened hearts and initiate spiritual journeys to their freedom.

 I don’t believe in trying to conform God or His word to our modern society. I believe that the salvation of Jesus is the only way to eternal life. The universe is the universe, not God.

Even as devout as I am in my beliefs, reaching hurting people, to me, supercedes religion. If we can just get people to the point of forming a relationship with God, then all the why’s, what fors, do’s, and dont’s will come with the growth of that relationship. 

And by no means, am I asking people to compromise their beliefs, I just wish that we would become more interested in seeing one another in authentic happiness and peace. I believe this movie has the potential to break down barriers and pierce hearts. Even as a Christian, I came away with a renewed understanding of God’s love for me and ultimately, it made me want to seek Him even more. 

I certainly encourage people to go see this movie! I’d love to hear your thoughts and views on it! 

Happy Inspiration Monday, 

Celestial 

8 thoughts on “Mundaze. “The Shack,” Review 

  1. I’m a huge fan of the Shack. I read the book a couple years ago and gave it away at least once to a friend since then. I haven’t seen the movie yet but the book itself was powerful and a very unique way of viewing God and life. The problem with most religious figures today is that they can’t accept a view beyond their own like they’ve completely figured everything about God out. The Shack is a great work of fiction that is used to send a message. You don’t have to agree with everything and I think that was the point. We don’t know God’s ways or methods for reaching out to us but that doesn’t stop us from enjoying the blessings. Thanks for your review and I’ll check it out soon.

      • Will do, I will probably see it next week. Sidenote: I also think that people should hate this movie if they never read the book. You have to let it sink in.

      • I agree. It’s hard to have an opinion about something you’ve never read or viewed. Ultimately, I think people should use their discretion and convictions, but I think some people just don’t want to give this movie a chance.

  2. I love the book and I’m looking forward to seeing the movie. The book gave me an understanding – no, a feeling of God’s love I hadn’t had before. It’s not supposed to be theology, it’s much better than that! ☺

  3. I loved this book and movie. I don’t know if I agree with Wm. Young on all of his theology, but who agrees on everything? The message in the Shack is a good one.

Leave a Reply

